Finding Balance

I’ve been so busy sewing the last couple weeks that I forgot to blog about it.  That is definitely going to be an adjustment for me, but I should be fine once I settle in to a routine.  I’ve spent the last couple weeks working on my partner’s tote for the Secret Tote Bag Swap – Round 2.   I decided to go with the Super Tote pattern by Noodlehead.  I love that pattern.  I used it for my partner in Round 1 too, so I already had the pattern pieces cut out (and that’s half the work).  The fact that my partner expressed an interest in that bag was just a happy bonus.  This should be going out in the mail Friday, right on schedule.  This swap coincided with my daughter’s 19th birthday and it seemed like a pretty perfect birthday present for her as well.  So I made 2, almost identical, Super Totes.  I just barely finished them in time for my daughter’s birthday and I was in such a hurry I neglected to get any photos of her tote.    My daughter, Emily, has it’s twin and will send me photos once she gets a chance.  The only real difference is that I used Essex Linen in Putty for her gussets and handles.  I can’t say enough wonderful things about Noodlehead’s patterns.  I’ve purchased 3 now and haven’t been at all disappointed.  Their instructions are very easy to follow and they have just the right amount of helpful photos.  One of these days I’m gonna have to make myself a Super Tote.  Or better yet…. maybe I’ll get one in the swap this round.

IMG_1613

Secret Tote Bag Swap – Round 2 (Front)

IMG_1615

Secret Tote Bag Swap – Round 2 (Back)

My other finishes were purely selfish.  About a month ago I started redecorating our master bedroom.  It was originally a sorta light brown, beige-y kinda color and made the room rather dark and depressing.  I chose a light grey for the new wall color with the intention of lightening things up a bit.  I was going for a softer, beach-y cottage type feel.  I love the color of the walls now.  It was supposed to be light grey, but depending on the time of day it looks a little blue.  Blue or grey, doesn’t matter because I love it.  We were in desperate need of a new mattress and well, one thing led to another and somehow I ended up with a whole new bedroom set.  Those salespeople are sneaky like that.  We actually got a great deal and I couldn’t be happier with the furniture.   Once I get the bedroom completely finished I’ll take you all on a virtual tour of the whole thing.  In the mean time, I’ll show you the 2 projects that I was able to accomplish the last couple weeks.

I turned this IMG_1603 into this IMG_1604IMG_1624

You can find the tutorial here.  Crazy Mom Quilts was one of the first quilting blogs that I found when I started quilting and she is still one of my all time favorites.  I love everything that she does and I especially like that she uses her scraps.  This project on canvas is the same pattern as one of her quilt patterns, Ticker Tape.  I haven’t had a chance to make the quilted version yet, but I’m looking forward to it.  I used 11 x 17 canvases for mine, but you could really use any size canvas.  I look forward to making more of these.  It’s a great way to use tiny scraps that you would otherwise throw away.  Next time I will space my fabric out a little more so that more of the white canvas is exposed.  And I’d like to make one that is all low volume scraps.  That would probably compliment my new and improved bedroom more too.

IMG_1612While shopping for the canvas I ran across this teeny tiny easel with a teeny tiny canvas on it and I HAD TO buy it.  I had no idea what I was going to do with it at the time, but I knew I needed it.  Hmmmm, guess that explains the overflowing fabric cabinets too. I have a very small amount of this Heather Ross fabric that I keep in an airtight container on a golden pillar in the middle of the room with spotlights trained on it and motion sensors surrounding it.   OK, well maybe it’s just in a ziplock bag in the top drawer of my sewing cabinet, but it’s precious to me.   So I decided it should be showcased as the work of art that I feel that it is.   It sits in my bedroom on a shelf and makes me smile every time that I walk past it.

Last, but not least, I finally got around to making curtains for the bedroom.  I made a little deal with myself that everything in my new, light and airy, beach-y bedroom that could be handmade, would be handmade.  About halfway through the curtain making process I was wondering if that was really such a great idea.  It’s not that they are difficult, in fact that may have been part of the problem.  I was a little bored making them.  Definitely nowhere near as fun as making a quilt.  But, in the end it was worth it.  I found the fabric on the sale table at my LQS for $4/yd and I bought 10 yards.  We installed some heavy wood blinds on the windows so I decided not to bother lining the curtains.  So for $40 and a couple hours I ended up with 2 sets of curtains.  It would have cost twice that to get comparable curtains from Target so I’m very pleased.  What do you think?

IMG_1642

IMG_1606 IMG_1627IMG_1643

I goofed and forgot to write down the fabric info before I threw away the selvage.

One thought on “Finding Balance

Leave a Reply

