It’s that time

It’s Christmas time in the land of quilting and crafting.  It’s that time of year when we start that new Holiday quilt or start scrambling to make all those gifts for our loved ones.  If you’re like me, you probably have a long list of wips or soon to be wips that you hope to have completed by Christmas.  So, naturally I decided to add one more to the list.

Christa of Christa Quilts! announced back in September that she was planning to have a quilt along for her pattern Modern Trees.  I knew I wanted to join in and started shopping for solids right away.  Normally I would make due with whatever holiday fabric that I had (and I have plenty), but what appealed to me about this quilt along was her “suggested” colors and the fact that it was all solids.  I have been wanting to try an ALL solids quilt for awhile now and this pattern is perfect for that.  I already had plenty of Kona Snow on hand, so it was just a matter of stocking up on some holiday colors.  I ran across some great sales and managed to put this pile together.

IMG_1646

That brown tree looking fabric at the top is from Lush Uptown and is called Wood Grain In Bark.  I adore that whole line and thought the bark fabric would look great as the tree stumps.   This was my first time participating in one of Christa’s Quilt Alongs and I’m thoroughly enjoying it.  She has a bunch of Quilt Alongs available on her blog and her instructions are very clear and easy to understand.   She encourages everyone to go go at their own pace, and while normally I fall behind pretty quickly (due to juggling too many wips) I’ve been anxiously awaiting each phase on this one.

IMG_1686

It’s far from perfect.  I had a really hard time keeping my bottom triangle points on the trees.  But, I’m thrilled with it.  I love the bright, solid colors!  I added an extra row of trees to my quilt, as well as an extra white border, in order to increase the size of the quilt.  This will be my Christmas couch throw so it needs to be big enough to keep a lap warm.  My top is all ready to go and next week Christa will be posting the backing and basting segment of the Quilt Along.  I had a few extra trees, including this cute scrappy attempt.

IMG_1670

So I decided to make a couple small table runners.

IMG_1678  IMG_1673

I am still pretty new to free motion quilting and it usually takes a lot of thinking and planning for me to decide on a quilting pattern.  This is the first quilt top that as soon as I finished I knew immediately how I wanted to quilt it.  That was a really great feeling and one that I hope to have more frequently.  I have a commissioned quilt that is ready for quilting and needs to be done by the end of November.  I’ve been staring at that one for months now waiting for some good quilting ideas to pop into my head.  I recently signed up for Free Motion Fillers with Leah Day on Craftsy and I started watching last night.  I’m hoping I can find some good inspiration there.    What about you?  Do you ever find yourself struggling to find the perfect quilting pattern? I’m wondering if it’s something that I’ll eventually “outgrow” as I gain quilting confidence or if I’m destined to always second guess myself.

4 thoughts on “It’s that time

Leave a Reply

