ALYOF – January Goal

Hmmmm, where oh where should I start??  This is my first year/time participating in A Lovely Year of Finishes and I have to say, I’m excited!  I think this is just the motivation that I need to get though the stack of quilt tops that are ready to be quilted and the blocks that are ready to be pieced.  My goal for January is to quilt and bind my Riley Blake Challenge quilt.  It’s due February 17th (but actually I need it for my guild meeting on 2/8) so I really have to have it finished this month!

IMG_1746-2

The photo shows the top on my design wall, but since then I have prepped the backing and basted it.  I think I’m going to keep the quilting pretty simple and stick with straight line quilting on the white areas.  Or I may go crazy and do concentric circles radiating out from the center.  Either way, I better get started soon!

Linking up with A Lovely Year of Finishes

9 thoughts on “ALYOF – January Goal

  1. I like your top. The Depression Block is one of my scrappy favorites, and I think your extension of it to the whole quilt is quite effective. The white goes so well with the bright fabrics, and your additions to the six we were given really adds pizzazz. (ps I get such a chuckle every time i see your header photo with the cat peeping through the sewing machine!)

    • Thanks! Hopefully I can do this quilt justice with my beginner quilting skills. I’m behind on my blog reading, but I just went to your blog to see what you had done with your challenge fabrics. I love it, very creative! And the pillows are awesome. I’m anxious to try improv piecing. Thanks for the comment and I like that Simon gives you a chuckle.

      Best, Mara

      • Thanks! Ditto to “I hope I can do justice with quilting”! I may wimp out and use walking foot, but I”d like to do FMQ. Still working on a decent stitch length. Maybe a month to practice is enough if I get serious.

Leave a Reply

