Fabriholics Pledge

My name is Mara, and I’m a fabriholic!

FabAnon 

I have decided to join Rebecca of Making Rebecca Lynne (and about 50 other fabriholics) in a 6 month fabric fast.  Like everyone else, I have waaaay too much fabric, certainly more that a 6 month supply and it’s time to stop the madness.  I have a few other reasons for joining in also.  I tend to plan (and buy) a lot faster than I can cut and sew.  I’m hoping that this 6 month breather will allow my hands to catch up with my brain.  My other big reason is necessity.  The company that I spent the last decade working for went out of business last Friday and I am currently without a job (and paycheck).  So there is definitely no money for pretty fabric right now.  One of the first steps is making a list of our WIP’s.  I’m in the process of that right now and will post that separately and soon.

My goals and rules are almost identical to those that Rebecca posted:

GOALS:
– To use the Stash I already have!
– Finish WIPs without distraction by shifting to other new beautiful fabric.
– Stop the insanity of constantly buying the latest and greatest fabric.
– Save the $$ I spend on stashing.
– Destash the fabrics that I realize I am never going to use.
FABRIC FAST RULES:
1) No fabric purchases for 6 months beginning January 1, 2014.   
2) At 6 months reevaluate status and decide whether to keep going for full year.  Evaluation July 1, 2014.
3) Create a WIP list and complete them!
4) Exceptions
  • Backing: purchasing a backing to finish a quilt top is permissible.  However, attempting to use fabric in your possession for a backing is preferable.
  • Books and Magazine purchases are allowed as they are not fabric.  Notions acceptable too

IMG_2112

 

One of my last purchases was Flats by Angela Yosten.  I can’t want to stat playing with them!

2 thoughts on “Fabriholics Pledge

  1. Mara,

    I am sorry to hear about the loss of you job. I wish you the best of luck in finding a fulfilling job and success on your fabric diet.

    I should take the challenge – but I am not yet ready to make the commitment. I am determined to finish several of my pending projects this year.

    Cindy

Leave a Reply

