Catvent Pillows

IMG_2246-2

I have been a busy girl the last couple days, lots of quilting!  These pillow covers were first on the list.  The pattern is from Elizabeth Hartman’s Catvent Quilt Along that she hosted last December.   A new kitty everyday for 25 days.  I came to the party a little late and only ended up making 4 of the kitties.  They were a fun make.  I just wasn’t up for a whole quilt.

IMG_2252-2

I had been wanting to try concentric circles with my free motion foot so I gave it a try.  Pretty wobbly.  I wasn’t thrilled with my first attempt and I’m not sure if I will try it again.  I much prefer using my walking foot, even if it does seem to take forever.

IMG_2249-2

I was much happier with the quilting on this pillow.  I used my walking foot on this one.  I quilted a giant X on the pillow top and then filled in the 4 areas with decreasing V’s.

IMG_2251-2

For the back of the pillows I used some cat print that I had in my stash.  I have no clue where I purchased this print from, but I know it was a long time ago.  I was saving it for the perfect project and this was it!  The pillow fronts were made with Essex yard dyed black linen blend and scraps from my scrap bins.  I used an envelope closure on the back, but I think I’m going to try a zipper closure on my next pillow.  It will be a good opportunity to learn a new skill.

IMG_2259-2

And of course where there are cat pillows there must also be cats.

In addition to the pillows I also finished the quilting on 3 quilts.  I’ll be posting about those just as soon as I finish the binding.   I also plan to do a little giveaway later in the week, stay tuned for details.

Thanks for reading,

Mara

One thought on “Catvent Pillows

Leave a Reply

