Economy Block Addiction And A Giveaway

I had all these great plans to make all this progress on my WIP list.  I was doing pretty good too.  I managed to get several quilts quilted and bound (more on that later).  Before I could get any farther I found myself mesmerized by all these cute little blocks I kept seeing.  Every other blog in my feed was posting about them.  I’ve heard them referred to as Economy blocks, Fussy Square blocks and Square In A Square blocks.

IMG_2276

Aren’t they cute?  I’ve been making the paper pieced blocks, available at What the Bobbin?.  But you can also follow Rita’s instructions for regular piecing at Red Pepper Quilts.  Her quilts are just beautiful.  She has such a great eye for color.  Paper or regular piecing….. these block are a breeze to make.  And it was way fun going through my scrap bins to find fun fabrics to fussy cut.  So far I have made 35 blocks and everything was from my scrap bins, I haven’t touched my stash yet.

IMG_2278

IMG_2286

IMG_2283

My favorite block is the Siamese cat block (my Simon block).  It’s a little darker than the rest of the blocks, but I will find a place for him in some project.  I’m thinking maybe a zip pouch.

In addition to paper piecing like crazy I have also spent some time cleaning and organizing my sewing space.  I sew in my basement.  It’s an unfinished basement, but I have done what I can to make it more comfortable.  There is a ton of space and it works nicely for me.

IMG_2168-2

IMG_2170-2

While cleaning and organizing I pulled some fabric that is definitely not my taste anymore.  It’s beautiful and great quality quilting cotton, I just can’t see myself using it.  And since I wanted to start doing regular monthly giveaways on here I figured this would be a great start.

IMG_2289

The panel fabric is Angel and Fairies by Elizabeth Studio.  The blue fairy fabric is unknown, but there is an entire yard of it.  The selvage reads Fashion Fabric, nothing more.  They both have a high quality “feel” to them.  If you are interested in them just leave me a comment.  Next Friday, 1/24, I will pick a winner randomly and notify you by email.

Linking up with Needle and Thread Thursday at My Quilt Infatuation and Finish It Up Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts

33 thoughts on “Economy Block Addiction And A Giveaway

    • Darn phone, I wasn’t done yet lol. I haven’t joined the economy block craze. They are adorable, just don’t have the desire to make them. Instead I want to try paper piecing, I’m very intrigued by it! Your space looks great!

  1. I love your stack of economy blocks, I hope to get on the band wagon and make some soon. I have a friend that collects fairies, I would love to make her something with the fairy fabric.

  2. Oh my gosh – I LOVE your economy blocks!!! I’ve just been staring at the photo where you have a whole bunch spread out. I would love to see them even closer up. You must have an amazing stash!! 🙂

  3. your economy blocks are awesome. hope to get started on a few myself but not sure I can focus on the small size. the fairy fabric would be a real hit with my grandaughters. in the summer they love to make fairy house in the woods near their home.

  4. Beautiful fabric – I can see the quilt made with it already! I love your economy blocks – think I might give that a go too!

  5. Wow! I’m so impressed by your stack of economy blocks! They are beautiful and it’s great that you were able to make them from your stash! And thanks for the peak into your sewing studio. It looks amazingly organized. Also thanks for the chance to win this fun fabric. My granddaughter would love a quilt with fairies on it.

  6. I have a granddaughter who loves little fairies. She was Tinkerbelle last Halloween. Thanks for the giveaway. Love your unfinished basement. Looks so cozy!

  7. I have no idea what the blocks are called economy blocks – I’m sure there is a story behind the name. I know them as a square in a square. I know there are many names for the same block. Your quilting space is terrific. If I win the fabric, I’ll make something for my six-month old granddaughter. She’s the surprise after three grandsons.

  8. Oh, my gosh. That fairy/angel fabric is lovely. My daughter and her little cousin are both 18 months old and my sister and i have decided that for their birthdays and Christmas this year they will be getting everything ‘fairy’. This fabric would make adorable dresses and skirts. Thanks for the chance! (and lovely blocks, also. I do believe you have inspired me to try it out!)

  9. Pingback: Giveaway Winner | Simon Says ... Sew!

Leave a Reply

