Fabriholics Anonymous – January Check In

So far so good, but it hasn’t been easy.  I was doing really great up until last week.  I was staying busy working on projects that I already had fabric for.  I also signed up for several swaps.  I was pretty sure I would have what I needed  for the swaps and I figured that would keep me busy and out of trouble.  Then last week I got an unexpected order for a QAYG tote and the customer requested music notes on a portion of it.  I looked everywhere, but there wasn’t a music note to be found in my stash.  So off to my LQS I go.  Now, I did make it an exception that I could buy as needed for swaps or commissioned items.  And I did only get a quarter yard of the fabric that I needed.  So I didn’t break any rules.  But I sure took a long walk through temptation isle.  The hardest part was walking away from Catnap.  I love my LQS, but they aren’t the quickest to get new lines in usually.  I was very surprised to see Catnap on their shelves already.  At one point I had 4 bolts in my arms and I was heading to the cutting table, but I talked myself down from it.  I think the only thing that saved me was that they didn’t have a good sale going, that would have pushed me over the edge.

I decided that 6 (or rather 5 now) months from now I would like a before and after photo so that I can see the impact that this fabric fast has had on my stash.  So here are my before photos that I took the first week of January.

IMG_2169-2

IMG_2174-2

Yardage – The top shelf is charm packs and other precuts and bundles. Everything else is yardage that I can hopefully use for backings.

IMG_2172-2

1/2 yard or fat quarters organized by color.

I consider this to be a successful month for me and I hope it was for you as well.

Linking up with

FabAnon

6 thoughts on “Fabriholics Anonymous – January Check In

  1. you have had a very successful month! Good for you for getting out of the LQS without those bolts! I have filled up on-line carts a couple of times, but dumped them in the end and only bought 3 meters of flannel for backing an unexpected commissioned baby quilt. But backing is in the rules so I am good! Good luck with February !

  2. So good that you walked away from the fabric. there is a good chance that they will still have that fabric in July and on sale??? I have to go to my LQS tonight for Solids Club and it will be difficult to walk out with out buying any! I love your idea of taking a picture of your stash. Mine is not displayed like that but it will be fun to see how much you sew through.

  3. Good idea to document your stash, I can’t wait to see the before and after in 6 months. Yay for staying on the wagon! I fell off – oh well. I’m anxiously awaiting some fabric pre-orders that have now been put on back order…ugh!

Leave a Reply

